In which cases is gluten really harmful and what kind of products should be avoided then? Doctor Ekaterina Burlyaeva clarifies the situation!
According to the definition of the World Gastroenterology Organization, celiac disease is an enteropathy that affects the small intestine of genetically predisposed children and adults and shows itself in the usage of food containing gluten.
Gluten is a protein group of wheat, rye and barley, which imparts desired baking properties while baking the pastry from these grains. Accordingly, people suffering from celiac disease must exclude from the diet products that contain gluten. What kind of products are they? All baked goods made from wheat and rye flour (bread, pastries, cakes, crackers, gingerbreads, cookies, pies, etc.), pasta, pancakes, dumplings, dumplings, semolina, barley, barley porridge, couscous, bulgur, muesli, cereals.
You should also pay attention to these products, which may contain cereals in its composition: yogurt with cereals, puddings, cream cheese, candies, sausages, meat and fish cutlets, sausages, breading for dishes, sauces. It should be remembered that beer is most often made from barley, while vodka has a wheat base.
What products are allowed to eat? Potatoes, wheat, rice, corn, buckwheat, beans, all vegetables, all nuts and fruits, cream, natural yoghurt, milk, classic and fresh cheese, fish and meat, eggs, butter, vegetable oil, pepper, salt, marmalade, honey, sugar (cane, beet, etc.).
What kind of recommendations does the World Gastroenterology Organization give?
- Patients with celiac disease should not eat wheat, rye or barley.
- Patients must strictly stick to gluten free diet during the whole life.
- Oats can be eaten, but only in a purified form; only a small subgroup of people with celiac disease (less than 5%) should not include it in ration.
- A diet based on corn and rice is acceptable.